For more information, contact Jen Madden:

 (803) 750-9561

Carolina Panorama publisher to lead state press association

Nathaniel Abraham Jr.

Nathaniel Abraham Jr., publisher of Carolina Panorama in Columbia, has been elected president of the S.C. Press Association after a vote of the Press Association’s membership.

Abraham is the first Black president of the association.

He is the second generation in his family to publish Carolina Panorama, a weekly newspaper serving the African-American community of Central South Carolina. Over the years, the newspaper has proudly focused on bringing positive news to its readers. In the past few years, Abraham and his staff have expanded into other parts of the state, now publishing Lowcountry Panorama and Upstate Panorama.

“It is an honor to be named President of the S.C. Press Association by my peers in the newspaper industry. Ironically, I got my start in the industry as a small child by selling newspapers in my neighborhood. I had no idea that early experience would eventually lead to this honor. I look forward to working with my industry peers to ensure that a free and independent press can fulfill its duty as the defender of democracy,” Abraham said.

Abraham is a native of Columbia, South Carolina. He graduated in 1987 from the University of South Carolina with a bachelor’s degree in history and a minor in business. After graduation he began his career in the news media industry by producing his father’s newspaper.

Abraham’s professional associations include America’s Newspapers, the Association of Community Publishers and the S.C. Press Association.  He is married to Patricia Abraham and they are the proud parents of three adult children (Nathaniel III, Briana and Amber).

Other officers elected were: Hal Welch, general manager of The Journal in Seneca, as daily newspaper vice president; Barbara Ball, publisher of The Voice of Blythewood and Fairfield County as weekly newspaper vice president; and as treasurer, Kyle Osteen, managing partner and co-owner of Osteen Publishing Co. which publishes The Sumter Item.

Elected to two-year terms on the SCPA Executive Committee were: John Boyette, executive editor of Aiken Standard; Lee Harter, executive editor of The Times and Democrat and Morning News; and Gina Smith, special projects editor of The State, The Island Packet, The Beaufort Gazette and The Sun News.

Re-elected to continuing terms on the SCPA Executive Committee were: Jane Alford, editor of The Lancaster News; Stephen Robertson, publisher of The Horry Independent, Myrtle Beach Herald, Carolina Forest Chronicle and The Loris Scene; and Jonathan Vickery, publisher of The People-Sentinel in Barnwell.

Abraham succeeds Richard Whiting, executive editor of the Index-Journal in Greenwood.

The election came as part of a two-day meeting in Columbia attended by 200 journalists from across the state.

The press association was founded in 1852 and serves 100 S.C. newspapers.