FOI Committee

The S.C. Press Association’s Freedom of Information Committee is charged with the following tasks and responsibilities:

    • Dealing with open government issues and initiatives
    • Setting long-term FOI objectives and priorities
    • To determine positions on particular bills if needed
    • To advise the professional staff on how particular FOI issues and bills will affect the industry
    • To assist in direct lobbying contact as set out by the committee, the chairman or the executive director
    • To assist in administering FOI Fund assistance through its chairperson

SCPA’s FOI Committee is the NFOIC’s affiliate for the Palmetto State. The National Freedom of Information Coalition is the umbrella organization for the state freedom of information groups and holds a yearly conference to discuss problems in the states. 

SCPA’s FOI Committee Members include:

    • Richard S. Whiting, FOI Chair, Index-Journal, Greenwood
    • Taylor M. Smith IV, Attorney, S.C.  Press Association
    • Jay Bender, Attorney, S.C.  Press Association
    • Martin Cahn, Chronicle-Independent, Camden
    • Jeffrey Collins, Associated Press, Columbia
    • Cliff Harrington, The Herald, Rock Hill
    • Travis Jenkins, The News & Reporter, Chester
    • Don Kausler Jr., Morning News, Florence
    • Patricia O’Connor, The Sun News, Retired
    • Graham Osteen, The Sumter Item
    • Mitch Pugh, The Post and Courier, Charleston
    • Brian Tolley, The State, The Island Packet and Beaufort Gazette, Columbia
    • Bill Rogers, Executive Director, S.C.  Press Association
    • Jen Madden, Assistant Director, S.C.  Press Association